10×10 – Centennial Single Hop IPA

FullSizeRender

Not the most glorious picture, but it’s all I have. Clearly, not the best decanting job or lighting. Bonus: I ran out of labels for this one, so it got the old skool treatment.

Everyone likes hazy, New England-Style IPAs. It’s what all the cool kids drink.

In fairness, I’ve been hopping (ha) on that bandwagon since Heady blew up a few years ago. Just now, you’ve got the NE boys really swinging their dicks around and making beers that look like OJ and egg drop soup (looking at you Trillium and Treehouse) with double dryhopping, not clarifying, adding apples and flour to the boil. It’s absolute turbidity.

So, naturally, I’ve had to refine my methods.

I’m also a big fan of backing up my shit talking when I do so.

For a while now, I’ve been railing against the fact that a lot of IPAs just taste the same to me. Just hopping the piss out of something with Citra, Mosaic, and/or Amarillo and Simcoe and everyone wants to suck your dick and pay $6 a pounder for it. And I would proudly shake my jaded fists and say “I could probably make a better IPA using old school hops like Casacade and Centennial”. So… I did.

Pretty much, this beer follows what is now my house IPA recipe. There might be small derivations on the exact amount of grains that I add weight wise, but pretty much, it’s always the same – Thomas Fawcett Pearl and White Wheat. Oats if I feel like I really need to drive home a beer with the chewiness of motor oil.

Full disclosure: I also like less malty/syrupy IPAs, so I try to get them pretty dry.

Them Digits

Batch Size: 5 gallons

Mash Temp: 150F

Boil Time: 60 min.

Batch Efficiency: Roughly 70%,

Original Gravity: 1.064 // 15.7 P

Final Gravity: 1.007 // 2.1 P

ABV: 7.2%

IBUs: 124

SRM: 11 EBC // 5.5 SRM

Recipe

Malts

  • 11# Pearl Malt | 74%
  • 1# Red Wheat | 14%
  • 1# Turbinado Sugar | 7%
  • .75# Rolled Oats | 5%

Hops

  • 5 mL Hop Jizz extract pen @ 60 min.
  • 2 oz. Centennial @ 40 min.
  • 2 oz. Centennial @ 20 min.
  • 2 oz. Centennial @ 10 min.
  • 2 oz. Centennial @ 5 min.
  • 2 oz. Centennial @ Hop Steep at 170F for 20 min.
  • 3 oz. Centennial @ Dryhop for 3 days, then removed
  • 3 oz. Centennial @ Dryhop for 3 days, then removed

Yeast

  • Wyeast London III (1318) – Fermented at ~70F

Notes

I admit, I was a bit brazen on this one. not only did I decide that, yes, I was going to use the whole pound of Centennial, I also swore this was a similar hop schedule to my traditional DIPA recipe, because it was 120 IBUs. (Since I’m mentioning this, it’s not).

This looked like straight up OJ. It was a gorgeous, golden-yellow hue, and completely opaque. By all standards, I achieved my goal on appearance.

Mouthfeel was great, nailed the carb in the bottle, and it was pretty luscious and cushy with a dry, but not brown paper towels in your mouth dry.

Flavorwise, it was what I wanted. That fresh, dank, Bell’s Two Hearted sticky icky fruity pebbles – until you got to the back of the palate. DEAR. GOD. It was palate crushingly bitter. Obviously, looking at the numbers, that’s like “durr, relative bitterness ratios”, but like I had previously mentioned, DIPA recipe had never turned out that way. Looking back at those notes, yeah, I never did anything before a 5 minutes addition. By staggering my 2 oz. additions in the boil, I had hoisted myself by my own petard.

Overall, I had a lot of friends who liked it. I wish I hadn’t added the hop extract to bitter, but hindsight is always 20/20. It was still dece, but not what it could have been.

I still stand by my original point, though. Is it cool making an Citra-Mosaic-Experimental Hop DIPA? Sure, but you don’t have to. Sometimes there is beauty in simplicity.

10x10

Leave a Reply

